Thu. May 26th, 2022

The request for the establishment of five zones and one special woreda in southwestern Ethiopia As “Southwestern Region of Ethiopia has been approved

It is stated that the five zones in southwestern Ethiopia and one special woreda had previously applied to the House of Federation to form a joint regional state proposed as “Southwestern Region of Ethiopia”.

Accordingly, after extensive discussions, the House approved the proposal to hold a referendum on the implementation of the National Electoral Board.

The request was made by Kafa, Bench, Sheko, West Omo, Dawro, Sheka Zones and Konta Special Woreda.

According to ENA, the zones have a common language, culture, history and geographical location.

By Chala Dandessa

Name: Chala Dandessa. I was born in West Shewa Zone, Chobi District of Oromia Region, Ethiopia in 1989. Currently I am Lecturer at Jimma Teachers College.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: